IMO announces six Sec-Gen candidates

The International Maritime Organization announces six candidates vying for the position of IMO Secretary-General in a news released April 1, 2015. By its established deadline of 31 March 2015, the organization has received the nominations of the six candidtates by their respective governments for said position.

In alphabetical order by surname, the candidates nominated are the following: Mr. Andreas Chrysostomou (Rep. of Cyprus); Mr. Vitaly Klyuev (Russian Federation); Mr. Ki-tack Lim (Rep. of Korea); Dr. Maximo Q. Mejia Jr (Rep. of the Philippines); Mr. Andreas Nordseth (Kingdom of Denmark); and Mr. Juvenal Shiundu (Rep. of Kenya).

H. E. Koji Sekimizu
IMO Secretary-General Mr. Koji Sekimizu is the seventh elected Secretary-General of this UN specialized agency. (Photo from

Election for the post will be held during the 114th session of the 40-member strong IMO Council, which will meet on 29 June 2015. The decision of the Council will be submitted to the IMO Assembly on its 29th session on 23 November 2015, for its approval.

Meanwhile, incumbent IMO Secretary-General Mr. Koji Sekimizu was elected in June 2011 for a four-year period starting 1 January 2012.

The International Maritime Organization is the specialized agency of the United Nations with responsibility for the safety and security of shipping and the prevention of marine pollution by ships. It is the global standard-setting authority for the safety, security and environmental performance of international shipping with its main role to create a regulatory framework for the shipping industry that is fair and effective, universally adopted and universally implemented.